News Single

Aussies Finish At World Championships

Wednesday, December 06, 2017

Tough conditions at South Point Bowling Centre in Las Vegas has seen Australia fall short of medalling at the 2017 World Championships.

Competing on the 39ft Beijing pattern team Australia took time to adjust to the challenging WTBA pattern with the groupís best result coming at the end of the championship when World number one, Jason Belmonte, qualified for the Masters finals.

After competing across four disciplines (singles, doubles, trios and teams) Belmonte, who came into the tournament after winning his third PBA Major of 2017 only weeks before, finished 4th in the All-Events to survive the cut for the Masters finals and keep Australiaís medal chances alive.

After joining the finals in step 2, the New South Welshman came up against Puerto Rican, Israel Hernandez, for two head-to-head matches.  With it all on the line the Australian showed his class winning 228-211 and 254-189 in the two matches.

Progressing to step 3 of the finals, Belmonte came up against Andres Gomez of Columbia which saw the head to head series push out to a third game after the Australian won the first match (243-178) with Gomez taking victory in the second 223-207.  With a place in the semi-finals on the line Gomez ate up the pressure to win, 242-211 and end Australiaís and Belmonteís chance at a medal in the 2017 World Championships.

Earlier in the championships in the teamís event, Australia narrowly missed out on a top 10 finish placing 11th across the 6 games with Ashley Warren leading the way averaging 217.67.

In the doubles Warren also managed a respective 212.83 average on the tough pattern with partner Adam Hayes to finish in 19th with Belmonte and Cooley finishing only 5 pins behind in 21st place. 

In the trioís competition, the best of the Australianís was Belmonte, Warren and Sam Cooley who finished in 21st place.

Overall, with the 60 lane centre throwing up some challenging conditions, the 12 titles decided at the Championships were divided amongst 8 federations with 4 titles going to the USA, 2 to Korea, with Canada, Chinese Taipei, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia and The Netherlands all winning one title each.

For all the final standings, visit