News Single

Toowoomba Hosts Record-Breaking TBAQ Adult/Youth State Championships

Monday, April 08, 2019

A record number of athletes from around Queensland converged on Sunset Superbowl in Toowoomba to compete in the 2019 TBAQ State Championships for Youth and Adult bowlers.

Staged over two consecutive weekends the Championships are organised by the Adult Committee of the sport’s State governing body, the Tenpin Bowling Association of Queensland, (TBAQ), and are a popular feature on the sport’s calendar.

Highlights from this year’s Championships include High Games of 290 by Grant Hold from Capalaba and shared High Game honours of 259 in the women’s division by Caboolture’s Alicia Melton and Chloe Jones from Townsville.  Amongst many notable achievements were over-average performances by numerous players, including Maria Bailey’s 131.78 and Dave Willis’s 177.33 averages over nine games  –  further details are published on and on TBAQ’s Facebook site.   
Another feature of the Championships is the annual Awards and Hall of Fame induction function celebrating the achievements of the sport’s top players and the invaluable contribution of the hundreds of volunteers who provide behind the scenes support to these achievements.  In conjunction with a Civic Reception hosted by Mayor, Paul Antonio, the glitzy Awards function was held at the Toowoomba Regional Council Annex and streamed live nationwide.   Awards and memorabilia were presented by the Mayor and other dignitaries including David Janetzki  MP and CEO of Q-Sport, Peter Cummiskey in 18 categories (details listed below).
TBAQ’s 2018 Hall of Fame inductee - George Frilingos – was honoured for his achievements as a State and national representative bowler over a career that features a swathe of regional, national and international titles and Australia’s top-ranked male bowler for six years between 2005 and 2016.   Responding to his induction, 44-year-old Frilingos entertained the capacity audience with insights into some of his youthful pranks and proudest moments in his career, outlining his aspirations to continue to represent Queensland at national tournaments and plans to give back to the sport of tenpin bowling.
“The enthusiasm shown by Queensland bowlers for their chosen sport is just fantastic and it’s great to see the growth in Championships participation and the popularity of our Awards function,” said TBAQ Vice-President, Morty Douglass.   “With almost 1,500 games bowled and some really impressive performances like Jamie Gollagher’s 255 game off a 165 average, the Championships showcased the talent of players from all around Queensland … it’s a unique opportunity for bowlers of all skill-levels to compete and enjoy our sport,” he added.
2019 Champions for the Youth, Restricted, Seniors, and Open divisions are :-
YOUTH - 20-year-old Cathryn Neubauer from Strathpine and 16-year-old Jamie Robinson from Richlands
RESTRICTED - Maria Bailey from Mt. Warren and Peter Smith from Kingaroy
SENIORS - Julie Harrison from Mt. Gravatt and Anthony Hamilton from Aspley
OPEN DIVISION - Larissa Furze from Cairns and Brendan Meads from Caboolture

2018 AWARDS AND HALL OF FAME recipients :-
Disability Bowler - Kate Jularat
Junior Bowler of the Year – Male - Kyle Annetts
Junior Bowler of the Year – Female - Ivy Dickinson
Youth Bowler of the Year – Male - Blayne Fletcher
Youth Bowler of the Year – Female - Chloe Jones
Adult Bowler of the Year – Male - Jarrrod Langford
Adult Bowler of the Year – Female - Cheryl Womack
Senior Bowler of the Year – Male - Dale Stewart
Senior Bowler of the Year – Female - Julie Harrison
Grand Senior Bowler of the Year – Male - Terry Wenban
Grand Senior Bowler of the Year – Female - Barb Richmond
Coach of the Year - Don Lindsay
QLD Rep Team of the Year - Queensland Combined Youth Team
Queensland Rep Bowler of the Year - Chloe Jones
Volunteer of the Year - Jessica Allen
Volunteer Recognition Award - Geoff Armstrong
Association of the Year - Aspley Tenpin Bowling Association

George Frilingos honoured with TBAQ Hall of Fame induction

TBAQ Chair Michael McKenna (left) with 2018 TBAQ Hall of Fame inductee George Frilingos

An impressive framed trophy of plaques was also presented to GAIL TORRENS in recognition of 20 years of excellence as coach and mentor to dozens of State teams at TBA’s National Championships - including more than 20 ‘Rachuig’ tournaments, the sport’s premier interstate teams event.

TBAQ Chair Michael McKenna (left) with Q-Sport CEO Peter Cummiskey and Gail Torrens

On behalf of Tenpin Bowling Australia, Kelly Warren presented plaques for BOWL PATROL’s Queensland and National Centre of the Year to Caboolture Tenpin Bowling Centre.   Brian Bates and Kelly Warren – TBA’s BOWL PATROL Awards

Caboolture Bowl's Brian Bates (left) with TBA's Kelly Warren