2018 Rankings Winners Announced

By Chris Rushton
November 8, 2018

Beginning in early January and with the Youth Champion of Champions on Sunday marking the final national ranked event of the year, the 2018 national rankings point’s winners have now been confirmed.

Having amassed 365 points in the Open division, which included wins at the Kegel Queensland Open, Australian Open and SA Cup, PBA bowler Sam Cooley finished on top of the Open Men’s division rankings, with 2017 men’s Open rankings winner Jarrod Langford finishing in second.  

In the Women’s division, Victorian Bec Whiting finishes the year as the best female bowler in the country, an award she has now won 8 times.  Finishing the best in the scratch division at the Vic150 and taking out the Queensland Ladies Classic and NSW Open, the 28-year-old dominated the women’s division throughout 2018.

In the Youth division, it came down to the final ranked event of the year – The Youth Champion of Champions to decide the winners.  After managing to gain victory at the final event of the year, Jordan Dinham took out the 2018 Youth Male rankings by 63 points, in a year that saw the 17-year-old also win the SA Youth Masters and NSW Open.  It also went down to the wire in the Female Youth division when Chloe Jones took victory at the weekends Champion of Champions.  The North Queensland bowler pipped Jodie Kos at the death to finish on top of the rankings in 2018 by a mere 5 points.

In the junior boy’s rankings, it was another win for Jordan Dinham.  The Tenpin City bowler took out this year’s SA Junior Cup, Junior Sydney Cup and Australian Junior Masters on the 2018 junior circuit, amassing 400 rankings points and 196 points ahead of next best Daniel Perrella.

In the Junior girl’s division, Grace Fahy finished the year at the top of the rankings after taking out the Queensland Junior Cup, finishing 28 points ahead of next best Jamie Phelan.

In the Senior rankings, Andrew Thorpe from Victoria finished on top of the men’s division after winning the Queensland Hammer Classic in January and placing second in three events during the year.   In the women’s division, Mary Dodds shot to the top of the rankings after winning the Campbelltown Vintage Classic, SA Seniors Classic and Seniors Cup.  

For the Grand Senior division, TBA Hall of Famer Terry Wenban took out the men’s division with Heather Robinson pipping Jeanette Baker by 25 points to take the win.  Baker had previously finished on top of the Grand Senior rankings for three consecutive years.

To view the final 2018 rankings points across each division click here