2019 Asian Schools Team Announced

By Chris Rushton
May 7, 2019

TBA’s High Performance Committee has today announced the team to represent Australia at the 2019 Asian School Tenpin Bowling Championships in Hong Kong.

Beginning on July 6th the Australian team will compete at the seven day event being held at the South China Athletic Association Bowling Centre.

The 16 strong team named today will begin preparations for the 20th running of Asia’s premier junior event that will play host to the rising stars of the sport from across the region.

The Australian team will head into the tournament with a mix of international experience in the green and gold, with the addition of some exciting rookies.

This year’s team will include 2019 World Junior Championship team members Cameron Stein, Nixon Chan, Amy Shoesmith and Sophie Martin. Jackson Botham, Jake Mitchell, Sarah Pennicott, Grace Fahy and Ashlyn Mohr will return to the Asian Schools team after representing at the 2018 tournament where Fahy won silver in the teams event whilst qualifying for the Masters.

7 Rookies Announced in Team

The team will also welcome rookies Bailey Miller, Bevan Brooke, Matthew Purser, Kyle Salter, Alannah Woodfield, Emily Bottomley and Lily Wilson following their selection.

The team will look to emulate the results of the 2018 team which brought home two silver and bronze medals from the highly competitive tournament. Australia’s last gold medal at the event came in 2017 with the team winning gold and two silver medals.

2019 Australian Asian Schools Team

Alannah Woodfield
Amy Shoesmith
Emily Bottomley
Grace Fahy
Lily Wilson
Sarah Pennicott
Sophie Martin
Ashlyn Mohr

Bailey Miller
Bevan Brooke
Cameron Stein
Jackson Botham
Jake Mitchell
Matthew Purser
Nixon Chan
Kyle Salter

Head Coach: Shane Bernhardt
Assistant Coaches: Bianca Flanagan & Simon Pearce
Team Managers: Jamie Taafe & Dee Taafe