Asian Youth Australian Team Announcement

By Chris Rushton
January 30, 2019

TBA’s High Performance Committee has today announced the team to represent Australia at the 20th Asian Youth Tenpin Bowling Championships.

The team will compete in Kuching, Sarawak, Malaysia from April 17th to 26th at the 42 lane Megalanes Sarawak centre.

Chloe Jones, Emma Stephens, Ivy Dickinson and Kylie Bailey have been selected alongside Kyle Annetts, Callum Borck, William Clark and Trent Webber.

The 2018 National Ranking Youth winner and 2019 Youth Cup champion Chloe Jones is set for her fifth year representing her country.  Returning to the same bowl in 2017 where Jones claimed a silver medal at the Asian School Championships team event, Jones will be joined by silver medal teammate Kylie Bailey.  Ivy Dickinson joins the girl’s team in her first for the Youth Division after a strong performance in the 2019 Youth Team Challenge and claiming a silver medal in last year’s Asian School doubles event.  Emma Stephens makes her Australian debut after years of consistent performances on the local circuit.

Callum Borck and Trent Webber return to the Megalanes after making an appearance at the 2017 Asian School Championships.  Borck claimed a silver medal in the 2017 doubles event and will be keen to add to his collection this year.  William Clark and Kyle Annetts join the team after promising performances at home and at last year’s Asian School Championships.

2018 was a successful year for the Australian Youth team where they claimed a silver and bronze medal at the World Youth Championships in Detroit, Michigan.  The team will again be coached by Youth National Training Squad head coach Robert Alexander.

More information on the tournament can be found on the official website here.

2019 Asian Youth Championships – Australia
Chloe Jones
Emma Stephens
Ivy Dickinson
Kylie Bailey
Callum Borck
Kyle Annetts
Trent Webber
William Clark

Team Reserves:
Emily Johnston
Daniel Perrella

Coach: Robert Alexander
Assistant Coach: Nathan Jenner