Aussies to Feature as PBA Returns

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
January 14, 2022

The 2022 Professional Bowling Association (PBA) season returns this weekend, with three Australians set to take centre stage against the world’s best tenpin bowlers.

Jason Belmonte, Sam Cooley, and Callum Borck will fly the flag for Australia in the 2022 PBA Tour season, entering the first event of the year – the PBA Players Championship.

“It’s terrific to see these three Australian bowlers return to the US to take on some of the best in the world,” said Tenpin Bowling Australia CEO Rohan O’Neill.

“All three men are key members of our National Training Squad and are fantastic role models who serve as tremendous examples of what is possible to achieve in the sport from our country.

“We wish them the best of luck with their endeavours whilst over there, and we will be cheering along with other fans from down-under”, added O’Neill.

The season’s inaugural event, the PBA Players Championship, begins with several qualifiers in regions throughout the United States of America. The Australian trio will start their journey in the West Region Qualifier from Bowlero Cerritos in California from 15 – 17 January.

Over two main competition days, the West Region Qualifier will see bowlers complete 28 games over four rounds (7 games per round on two different patterns). After the 28 qualifying games, the top five bowlers in each region will advance to the Regional Finals and be seeded according to their 28-game pin total.

Scheduled to commence on Tuesday 25 January (Australian time), the West Regional Finals will find the winner to join other regional winners and advance to the Championship Rounds on 29/30 January.

A long journey to kick start the season but up for grabs is $100,000 prize money for the PBA Players Championship title winner.

TBA wishes all three bowlers high scoring and the very best of luck throughout the event.

PBA Players Championship Schedule

* Times listed below are Australian dates and in AEDT time format.

Saturday, 15 January – Pro Tour Qualifier 4.00am -7.30am (if necessary)

(7 games, Don Johnson 40)

The top 6 players advance from the PTQ to the main field

Practice Session – 10am-12.30pm

(PBA Chameleon 39 & PBA Dragon 45).

Sunday, 16 January

Qualifying Round 1: 5 am – 9.30am

(7 games PBA Chameleon 39)


Qualifying Round 2: 11.30am – 4pm

(7 games PBA Chameleon 39)

Monday, 17 January

Qualifying Round 3: 5am- 9.30am

(7 games PBA Dragon 45)


Qualifying Round 4: 11.30am – 4pm

(7 games PBA Dragon 45)

After 28 qualifying games, the top five bowlers in each region will advance to the Regional Finals and be seeded according to their 28 game pin total.

PBA Players Championship Winners since 2011

2011 – Jason Belmonte
2012 – not held
2013 – Scott Norton
2014 – not held
2015 – Parker Bohn III
2016 – Graham Fach
2017 – Jason Belmonte
2018 – Tom Smallwood
2019 – Anthony Simonsen
2020 – Bill O’Neill
2021 – Kyle Troup

How to Watch?

Flobowling is providing FloZone coverage of regional qualifiers on Sunday 16 January and Monday 17 January from 2:00am AEDT.

Stream or cast from your desktop, mobile or TV. Now available on Roku, Fire TV, Chromecast and Apple TV. Join up now!

Follow all the latest at and