Cup Winners Decided at 2019 Australian Junior Championship

By Chris Rushton
April 24, 2019

The Australian Junior Championship got underway last Wednesday with the 2019 Restricted and Classic Cup’s being decided at Oz Tenpin Chirnside Park.

On Saturday, 24 finalists contested the final 8 games of the Restricted Cup with Emma Musolino and Noah Mcmaster taking home the 2019 titles.

After qualifying for the finals, Mcmaster bowled games of 114, 164, 189, 186, 208, 151, 127 and 170 to storm home and win by 203 pins from second placed Kohan Davis (1938) and Zavier Trajanovski (1922) in third.

In the girls division, Musolino finished on top of the podium after games of 112, 117, 121, 124, 110, 108, 108 and 119 to win the title from 2018 winner Lilah Jones, who finished 58 pins behind Musolino with 2017 winner Lily Nelson finishing in third.

Queenslanders Take Out Classic Cup

In the Classic Cup on Monday, Queenslanders Jack Colmer and Emily Bottomley took the 2019 titles.

In the final eight games, Colmer bowled games of 157, 208, 196, 197, 228, 263, 227 and 197 to win the Classic Cup title by 95 pins from Victorian Trent McDougall (1578) in second with Bundaberg bowler Mitchell Williams (1576) in third.

In the girls division, Emily Bottomley took the honours after bowling games of 176, 175, 192, 178, 183, 246, 204 and 181 in the finals to finish 32 pins ahead of Emma Scott (1503) from NSW and Star Polina (1468) who rounded out the podium.

On Sunday evening the Royal Rumble was contested with 20 teams competing and the night had plenty of excitement. ‘Son of a Beach’ finished the night in 1st place with ‘Misfits’ in 2nd and ‘Where’s Wally’ in 3rd.

Earlier in the week, the Australian Bumper Challenge was held for bowlers under 10 years of age. With a strong field assembling, Xavier Walker claimed 1st place with Riley Musolino in 2nd and Ethan Allen in 3rd.

President’s Shield Underway

Today will see the second day of the President’s Junior Interstate Shield with Victoria defending their overall title from 2018.

For the full results and to keep an eye on the President’s Shield standings visit and click on the Events tab.