New Appointments to TBA Board of Directors and Sub-Committees

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
July 7, 2022

The Tenpin Bowling Australia (TBA) Board would like to announce the recent appointments of Julia Featherstone, Graham Pearson and Andrew Jacklin.     

Queenslander Julia Featherston joins the Board and fulfils a casual vacancy until the next Annual General Meeting (AGM) in 2023. Graham Pearson was elected at the recent AGM having served over 10 years on the Victorian TBA Board whilst Andrew Jacklin will hold the IBCA appointed Director position on the TBA Board.   

The process to determine the casual vacancy highlighted the importance of good governance, where the TBA Governance Committee assessed the current skills matrix and needs of the organisation in determining the appropriate candidate. 

“Julia’s experience and skills in People and Culture within business, combined with her leadership and strategic thinking will add enormous value to tenpin bowling in Australia,” said Chair of TBA Jerome Joseph.   

“With many exciting things on the horizon, we welcome Julia’s passion for transformation as we embark on a changing time across the sport and industry. 

“This appointment complements the tenpin bowling industry expertise of Graham and Andrew, both of whom are well known across the sport. We look forward to their contribution to the organisation,” added Joseph.  

As director on the TBA Board, Julia will have a national people and culture focus for her role.  

The confirmation of the above inclusion to the TBA Board follows the confirmation of Jerome Joseph as Chair, Shane Bernhardt as Vice-Chair and Renee Woolley (Zone Bowling appointment), Geoff Bowness (member elected), Hish Fernando (appointed) and Matt To’omua (appointed) as directors on the TBA board. 

In addition to the above, the TBA Board recently formalised the appointment of Jess Torpey as the independent member of the Governance Committee, in addition to the inclusion of a new Board sub-committee (Industry). 

Jess is currently serving as an Executive Officer for Property & Facilities at the University of Queensland having completed her online director education training from Sport Australia.  

The new Industry Sub-Committee has been formed to focus on industry related matters, with Woolley appointed as Chair of this sub-committee. This new sub-committee adds to the existing Governance committee, Technology and Digital Transformation committee and the Finance, Audit and Risk committee. 

“TBA is committed to ongoing improvement of our processes across the sport. These appointments and the inclusion of an industry specific sub-committee of the Board demonstrate our commitment to good governance,” said Joseph.   

These changes align with the TBA and Sport AUS Governance and Organisational Enhancement annual plan.