New Directors Join the TBA Board with Shane Bernhardt Announced as Chair

By Chris Rushton
June 10, 2019

Shane Bernhardt has been elected as the new Chair of Tenpin Bowling Australia (TBA) following the AGM on Saturday 25th May in Melbourne, which also saw two new directors join the organisation.

Having joined the TBA Board in May 2018 and as the current General Manager for the South Australian Cricket Association, Bernhardt brings over to the role over 39 years’ experience as a player, coach and administrator in the sports industry and following the meeting, Bernhardt said he is honoured to be the Chair of TBA.

“I was really excited about being appointed Chair of TBA as tenpin bowling has played a big part in my life over the past 20 years. As people will be aware, I am passionate about our high performance pathway and believe that we are starting to get this on the right track, but in saying this my skill set is very much aligned to entry level participation,” Bernhardt said.

Opportunities to grow sustainable participation in our sport

“What I am looking forward to over the next 12 months is TBA defining its purpose within the bowling industry and capitalising on the opportunities to grow sustainable participation in our sport.”

The meeting also saw Matthew Whitten become a member elected director and Vice Chair of the Board. The Sydney based director brings over 26 years’ experience to the Board from across the bowling industry and sport.

Sally Jarvis also joins the National Sporting Organisation as a member elected director. Jarvis brings with her experience in multi and single sport events with the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games and more recently with the Arafura games and will play a key role in assisting TBA to evolve the National Championships.

Hish Fernando was appointed to the Board and brings experience across a diverse range of industries including sport, specialising in business analysis, information technology and intelligence.

The AGM also marked time on the Board for Bruce Morris who has held director positions with TBA from 2008 until 2014 as well as from 2015 until 2019. Graeme Cox who is the General Manager of Dullboy’s Co, bowling and entertainment centres in Newcastle (formerly SuperStrike) will take over the independent bowling centres position on the Board.

The meeting also saw Geoff Bowness, Dean Brostek and Renee Woolley remain as directors of TBA and State Association representatives attend the annual State meeting to discuss strategic and operational issues affecting the sport both now and into the future.

For more details on the TBA Board click here.

Pictured above (l-r) front row – Renee Woolley, Cara Honeychurch, Graeme Cox
back row – Dean Brostek, Shane Bernhardt, Matthew Whitten, Geoff Bowness, Sally Jarvis