Pocket Preview: 2023 Hammer QLD Senior Classic

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
January 20, 2023

The 2023 Ranked event season kicks off on Friday night with the Hammer Queensland Senior Classic set to get underway at Caboolture Bowl.

The always popular senior and grand senior division event will welcome 108 bowlers who have filled out all three available squads for the three-day event from the 20-22 January.

All bowlers will bowl 18 games in their allocated squad over two sessions. The male and female bowlers with the highest pinfall after all three squads have completed their 18 games will be crowned champions of the event.

The 19th running of the Hammer will see Queenslanders Tony Hamilton and Sue Cassell enter the event as defending champions after winning in 2022. The two bowlers have dominated the event since 2019, where both have won the event on three of the last four occasions.

The event will also introduce the new Grand Senior eligibility requirement for ranked events. Previously the Grand Senior Division saw bowlers aged 60 and over eligible to participate in the division. To fall in line with international standards, the Grand Senior division will now be for bowlers aged 65 or over.

Catch all the action on the Cab Bowl Live Facebook page and YouTube channel with the event being live-streamed. Scores and results will be updated by tournament organisers on TenpinResults.

Good luck and high scoring to all bowlers in attendance this weekend!

Friday 20 January

  • Bowl 10 Games – 5 Blocks/2 Games
  • Squad A – Check-in by 6:15 pm

Saturday 21 January

  • Bowl 10 Games – 5 Blocks/2 Games
  • Squad B – Check-in by 7:45 am
  • Squad C – Check-in by 1:30 pm
  • Bowl 8 Games – 4 Blocks/2 Games
  • Squad A – Check-in by 7:15 pm

Sunday 22 January

  • Bowl 8 Games – 4 Blocks/2 Games
  • Squad C – Check-in by 7:45 am
  • Squad B- Check-in by 12:30 pm

Lanes washed and oiled before each appearance

Presentation to occur as soon as completed – approximately 5 pm

2005Gary BernardinJeanette Baker
2006Lawrie HillJeanette Baker
2007Mike SullivanJeanette Baker
2008Terry WenbanJeanette Baker
2009Tony StoppelRobyn Flynn
2010Garry CrickRobyn Flynn
2011Graeme MorganChristine Webster
2012Graeme MorganJeanette Baker
2013Warren StewartHeather Robertson
2014Jim BakirtzidisChristine Clark
2015Steven SmithChristine Clark
2016Bob WhybrowChristine Clark
2017Craig PearsallTracey Crisp
2018Andrew ThorpeJulie Harrison
2019Tony HamiltonJulie Harrison
2020Tony HamiltonSue Cassell
2021Carl BottomleySue Cassell
2022Tony HamiltonSue Cassell