Pocket Preview: 2023 John Sullivan Senior Australian Open

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
March 17, 2023

The senior and grand senior ranked event season continues this weekend with the John Sullivan Senior Australian open set to kick-off at Zone Bowling Frankston in Victoria.

This year will be the 17th year running of the event and will be the second stop in the senior and grand senior season for 2023.

Set to host three ranked events this year along with the Vic 150 and Australian Tenpin Bowling Open, Zone Bowling Frankston will once again welcome bowlers after hosting the event for the first time last year. It’s unique 28-lane split centre setup creates a fantastic atmosphere for bowlers and spectators alike.

2022 champions Andrew Lloyd, Jenny Burton-Douglas, and Graeme Morgan all return to defend their titles. Both senior division bowlers Andrew and Jenny ended the 2022 year on a high after being crowned the national ranking winners for the divisions.

After taking out the first event for the senior division for 2023 at the Hammer Queensland Senior Classic, Victorian Dena Buxton will be in attendance keen to continue her incredible form in the senior division.

The format is straightforward. All bowlers will bowl 16 games in two squads, eight games on Saturday and the final eight games on Sunday. There will be three divisions at play – Mens, ladies, and Men’s over 60’s. A ladies over 60’s bonus will be given to ladies who do not cash in the ladies division.

Tenpin Bowling Australia wishes all the bowlers the best of luck and high scoring this weekend!

YearSenior DivisionGrand Senior Division
2007Merv Billing and Jeanette Baker
2009Bob Whybrow, Jeanette BakerStephen Bell, Alain Cossadeaux
2010Tony Stoppel, Julie HirdStephen Bell and Ingrid Coburn
2011Bill Johnson, Jeanette BakerBrien Show-yin, Barb Richmond
2012Brenton Davy, Jeanette BakerRob Zikman, Maxine Forrest
2013Brenton Davy, Jeanette BakerMike Kennedy, Barb Richmond
2014Mick Talevski, Jeanette BakerStephen Bell, Christene Webster
2015Bill Johnson, Heather RobertsonStephen Bell, Jeanette Baker
2016Mick Talevski, Lee BoothJim Bakirtzidis, Jeanette Baker
2017Bill Johnson, Julie HarrisonJim Bakirtzidis, Jeanette Baker
2018Kevin Webb, Jeanette BakerMick Talevski, Lee Booth
2019Ralph Harford, Christine ClarkTerry Wenban, Sarah Knowland
2020Andrew Lloyd, Christine ClarkJim Bakirtzidis and Jeanette Baker
2021Mike Muir, Sue CassellDavid Farquharson
2022Andrew Lloyd, Jennifer Burton-DouglasGraeme Morgan

All bowlers wishing to have ranking points applied to their performances must have a silver upgrade registration attached to their TenpinResults profile before 11.59 am on Friday 17 March 2023. This can be actioned online on TenpinResults and more information can be found here