Pocket Preview: 2023 Sydney BowlFest

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
May 19, 2023

The best junior and youth bowlers from around the country will come together on the weekend for the first-ever Sydney Bowlfest at Tenpin City in New South Wales.

The Sydney BowlFest includes several events including the running of two nationally ranked events – The Junior Sydney Cup and Sydney Youth Cup. These events are the second events on both the Junior and Youth division ranked event calendar for 2023.

As well as the ranked events, the Sydney BowlFest will also host the Sydney Un15s and Un13’s Cup.

Steeped in tradition, the Junior Sydney Cup started in 1977 and this will be the 45th running of the prestigious event.

Joining the Australian talent will be a travelling team from New Zealand. A total of 15 athletes plus coaches and managers of its Junior and Youth National Training Squads have travelled down under to test their skills against some of Australia’s best after hosting the Australian NTS18 squad in 2022.

“We can’t wait to welcome everyone to this new and exciting event,” said Tournament director, Dion Alexander.

“We thought it made sense to join the junior and youth events together this year to create a mammoth carnival of bowling over one weekend.

“It should be a fantastic weekend with high-quality bowling on display from both the Australian and New Zealand competitors” added Alexander.

The format of both the JSC and SYC will see bowlers qualify by providing their best three qualifying squad scores (9 game total). With pinfall carrying over from qualifying, the top 8 males and top 8 females will then advance to the matchplay finals where bowlers will complete seven games head to head with bonus points activated.

Following the matchplay round, the top two bowlers will bowl the title match which will be a one-game match with pinfall not carrying over from matchplay. The number one seed will have the option for a rechallenge if they lose the first match.

Justin Dinham and Samantha Clifton will be in attendance to defend their Junior Sydney Cup crowns and for the Sydney Youth Cup, Jamie Robinson will be in attendance to defend his 2022 title while Grace Fahy has aged out.

It promises to be a weekend full of action showcasing some of the rising stars in the sport.

We wish all bowlers the best of luck and high scoring at the event.

Junior Sydney Cup

1977Danny Hackles
1978Sam Parella
1979Warren Stewart
1980Brian McCarroll
1981Warren Stewart
1982Stephen Montgomery
1983Max Hardy
1984Darryl PoveyCarol Gianotti
1985Craig CookCarol Cianotti
1986Matthew FrancisAnn-Maree Putney
1987Craig StreatifieldJodi Robinson
1988Matthew FrancisCarol Rowland-Jones
1989Billy GardinerTanya Steele
1990Wayne GriffithsLynette Motbey
1991Ken WilkinsAmanda Bradley
1992Matthew BurttAmanda Bradley
1993Murray McDonaldSamantha Edwards
1994Darren EgarKaren Perry
1995Anthony MaguireJessica Jakeway
1996Jason WalshKatie Stuart
1997Bruce FudaHolly Faint
1998Brandon QualischefskiHolly Faint
1999Jason LeongMelissa King
2000Scott AndrewsMichelle Halprin
2001Chris SlatterySally Kerr
2002Matthew SofiaJayde Flanagan
2003Michael ZentveldBianca Flanagan
2004Brady PirieMeghan Gore
2005Stephen CowlandSamantha Carter
2006Dion AlexanderRebecca Whiting
2007Steven ArmstrongRochelle Mottlee
2008Kyle WebberMarissa Schulze
2009Sam CooleyLaura Kaim
2010Simon PearceSarah McRae
2011Ben DonnellyChloe Harradine-Hale
2012Jarrod LangfordLibby Embury
2013Jayden LemingKatey Furze
2014Sam CurryRebekah Commane
2015Jayden PanellaJodie Kos
2016Josh MorrisTaneisha Griffiths
2017Kyle AnnettsTaneisha Griffiths
2018Jordan DinhamEmily Meehan
2019Nixon ChanSarah Pennicott
2022Justin DinhamSamantha Clifton

Sydney Youth Cup

2007Michael CraigCassie Staudinger
2008Ben CouplandEmily Robertson
2009Stephen CowlandJacinta Gilliland
2010Stephen CowlandRebecca Whiting
2011Dion AlexanderBec Whiting
2012 Nicolle Williams
2013Paul WhiteKatey Furze
2014Paul WhiteEmily Rigney
2015Blayne FletcherMaddy Kemp
2016Jayden LemmingChloe Jones
2017Blayne FletcherHeather Penatzer
2018Blayne FletcherJamie Phelan
2019Jackson BothamGrace Fahy
2021Jesse EllisEmily Johnston
2022Jamie RobinsonGrace Fahy

If you have any additional information about previous winners not listed, please email [email protected].au to allow updating of records

2023 Sydney BowlFest Updated Schedule 060523
  • Parking in the shopping centre is 3hrs free after that it is paid parking (there is now an external company that looks after the parking system and hence we can’t get our free parking anymore)
  • All squads and qualifying attempts need to be paid through Tenpin Results multiple divisions can be qualified for at the same time if the bowler is eligible and will need to be paid for through Tenpin Results before the start of the squad
  • Bowlers will be required to check-in to each squad
  • Squad refunds will not be issued
  • A ball paddock will be available for bowlers in the meeting room


  • Related article

    Ranked Recap: 2023 Sydney BowlFest

    The inaugural Sydney BowlFest was the talk of the town as the best junior and youth bowlers from Australia and New Zealand gathered to compete in the second junior and youth division ranked events of the season.

  • Related article

    Entry Release: 2023 Sydney BowlFest

    Entries for the 2023 Sydney BowlFest will open Thursday night on TenpinResults.