Pocket Preview: Melbourne Tenpin Cup

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
June 10, 2022

The third open division ranked event will get underway this weekend at Oz Tenpin Chirnside Park with the 48th running of the Melbourne Tenpin Cup.

The Melbourne Tenpin Cup (MTC) is one of Australia’s most historical and prestigious tournaments on the bowling calendar. After two years of cancellations due to the COVID-19, the Melbourne Tenpin Cup (MTC) returns for bowlers to enjoy.

Action is set to get underway on Saturday, June 11 and wraps up on Sunday afternoon, June 12.

We wish all bowlers the very best of luck and high scoring.

Click here to view scores and results as they are entered

This is the 48th running of the Melbourne Tenpin Cup.

The last running of the event in 2019 saw Jarrod Langford claim his second MTC title in a row after winning in 2018. Jarrod will be in attendance in 2022 to defend his crown.

1973Steve Mackie
1974Terry Wenban
1975Steve Mackie
1976Vic Bubniw
1977Paul Madden
1978Joe Velo
1979John Sullivan
1980Len Hogg
1981Ron Powell
1982Brian Bridges
1983Dave Davis (USA)
1984Gary Kee
1985Tom Kury
1986Steve Lovell
1987Ian Bradford
1988Donna Adamek (USA)
1989Fred Alsopp
1990Peter Selakovic
1991Billy Gardiner
1992Ian Bradford
1993Chris Batson
1994Andrew Frawley
1995Mike Muir
1996Brenton Manning
1997Alex Liew (MAL)
1998Craig Bourke
1999Frank Ryan
2000Bill Gardiner
2001Mike Muir
2002Jason Belmonte
2003Carl Bottomley
2004Jason Belmonte
2005Andrew McArthur
2006Brandon Qualischefski
2007Jason Belmonte
2008Matt Riley
2009George Frilingos
2010Carl Bottomley
2011Jason Belmonte
2012Jason Belmonte
2013Jason Belmonte
2014Robbie Alston
2015George Frilingos
2016Jason Belmonte
2017George Frilingos
2018Jarrod Langford
2019Jarrod Langford
2020Cancelled COVID-19
2021Cancelled COVID-19
2017 Melbourne Tenpin Cup – Champion George Frillingos (centre) with second-place Jason Belmonte (left) and third-place Bec Whiting (right)

Click here to download

Stage One:

  • Qualifying (10 games)
  • All entrants will complete 10 games in one appearance in their nominated squad. 5 x 2 game blocks

Stage Two:

  • The top 39 will bowl a further 5 games in 5 x 1 game blocks. At the completion of the 5 games, the Top 15 will continue on to the Round Robin Stage

Stage Three:

  • The Top 14 will bowl 7 games Round Robin. Bonus pins will be 40 pins for a win, 20 pins for 2nd and zero for third.

The winner is based on total pinfall from all sections of the tournament plus bonus pins (pinfall carries over).

Squad lists can be found by clicking here


  • Related article

    Pocket Preview: Australian Open

    The Australian Open will run for the 46th time this weekend at Zone Bowling Frankston in Victoria as the second open division event for 2022 gets underway.

  • Related article

    Pocket Preview: 2022 NSW Open

    It’s been a two-year wait, but the popular NSW Open event will return this weekend to conclude the 2022 women’s and open division ranked event season.