Queensland Ladies Classic Event WRAP

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
May 13, 2022

Congratulations to Rebekah Commane winning the 2022 Queensland Ladies Classic and Bek Whiting runner up.

Rebekah Commane says that “feels great” to have emerged victorious from this weekend Mount Frankling Queensland Ladies Classic at Caboolture Bowl & Mini Golf.

Event Tournament Director Dylan Lucas said the flooding rain in the lead up to the event was a concern, as it looked like the weather may have delivered a considerable downpour directly to the region.

When rain eased on Thursday and Friday, Lucas was pleased to welcome 49 competitions to the Sunshine State. While it was disappointing some competitors were still not able travel in the deteriorating weather across the state, it didn’t prevent the interstate guest’s arrival.   

Travelling from Victoria with a group of fellow competitors, Commane, who was credited with providing outstanding support, entered the Final 8 and played off against superstar Bec Whitting in first position to take the title.   

The format saw a number of high scoring games, and meant that once Commane made the final she felt that “everything went right and just fell into place”.

With an average of 245 in the last four games of the finals format, a feat the Victorian has never managed before, she credited her successful weekend to changes made by ball driller Steve Loats, who changed the pitch on the ball she would use for the entire tournament. 

Commane said this was one of the biggest events on the calendar and knew “she was going to give it her best all the way to the end” as she continued building on her experience.

They 23-year-old thanked her family and sponsor Double 7 Bowling Supplies, along employers and sponsor Win City Bowl where she returned to work today across the Keon Park and Point Cooke locations. 

Click here to view the scores and results as they are entered by the tournament organisers

This is the 23rd running of the Queensland Ladies Classic.

The defending champion is Bianca Flanagan

1999Kirstie Mills
2000Kelly Warren
2001Kelly Warren
2002Kelly Warren
2003Sam Warby
2004Ann Maree Putney
2005Ann Maree Putney
2006Natalie Shelley
2007Kate Wilton
2008Kara Triulcio
2009Ann Maree Putney
2010Rebecca Whiting
2011Rebecca Whiting
2012Alicia Melton
2013Kate Pilkington
2014Rebecca Whiting
2015Emma Walsh
2016Bec Martin
2017Rebecca Whiting
2018Rebecca Whiting
2019Rebecca Whiting
2021Bianca Flanagan
2022Rebekah Commane