Team LTV Crowned Inaugural TPL Next Gen Champions

By Matt Stevens
April 13, 2024

In an electrifying conclusion to the TPL Next Gen tournament, Team LTV emerged victorious, claiming the coveted title in a heart-stopping grand final against Team SIB with a final score of 434-399.

The LTV team consisting of Levi Greenhill, Tyler Clarkson, and Vanessa Hannigan didn’t have to travel far hailing from Go Bowling Ashmore on the Gold Coast in Queensland. With NTS18 bowler Vanessa Hannigan steering the ship, team LTV saved their best for last with an amazing grand final performance against Team SIB to capture the title.

The tournament kicked off at the AGL National High Performance Centre on Friday for the first of two rounds before the Final Four, where Team SIB and Team LTV outperformed the competition in round one of the competition.

Team SIB, consisting of Sophie Jones, Isabelle Wallwork, and Blayde Christensen, led the pack with a remarkable average of 211.4 across nine games. Team LTV showcased their ability, trailing by a mere 127 pins finishing in second position. Both teams punched their tickets directly to the Final Four, setting the stage for an epic showdown.

The second day of the championship was no less thrilling. Ten teams vied for supremacy, with Team KBC, comprising Klayton Kwan, Bee Kyte, and Cruz Craven, dominating the evens pool. Their flawless performance winning five of five games earned them 15 points and a deserved spot in the Final Four. Meanwhile, Team SEL, with Sophie Greaves, Emily Starkey, and Lachlan Hembrow at the helm, replicated the winning streak in the odds pool, also capturing 15 points and securing their place in the semifinals.

As anticipation built, the semifinals did not disappoint. With the Final Four streamed live on TBA’s Facebook and YouTube channels, all final games would be the best of two baker games with the winners determined by total pinfall.

Team SIB showcased their skill, especially in the second game, with Blayde Christensen’s 11 consecutive strikes leading to a tournament-high score of 290.  Despite a valiant effort, Team SEL and Team KBC fell short, setting up a grand final clash between Team SIB and Team LTV.

The grand final was a display of passion and skill. Team LTV, driven by Vanessa Hannigan’s inspiring energy, took an early 55-pin advantage after game one. In a dramatic turn, Team SIB rallied with a late surge of strikes, but it wasn’t enough to topple Team LTV’s consistent performance, concluding in a historical victory.

The inaugural TPL Next Gen Tournament has set a high standard for the future of the TBA National Junior Championships. We witnessed breathtaking talent, inspiring team spirit, and the birth of a new legacy.

Congratulations to Levi Greenhill, Tyler Clarkson, and Vanessa Hannigan of Team LTV, who become the first names etched into the archives of TPL Next Gen history.

Missed the action? Relive the magic by watching the stream of the final four phase.

We extend our heartfelt thanks to all the competitors for their exceptional performances. Here’s to the bright future of the TPL Next Gen and the continued celebration of young talent at the TBA National Junior Championships!

The TBA National Junior Championship continues tomorrow with Championship Squads on the agenda. Bowling in singles and doubles 3 game series appearances, bowlers will aim to post their two best 3 game scores to qualify for three master events in play.