Thorpe Bowls Perfect Game and Wins the Campbelltown Vintage Classic

By Jim Sultana
February 25, 2019

Andrew Thorpe has stormed home with a perfect game to win the weekends Campbelltown Vintage Classic with Sarah Knowland winning the senior and grand senior ladies titles.

Jim Karakostas & Sarah Knowland

After finishing the 2018 event in equal second, Thorpe came out of the blocks fast on Saturday, bowling 241 and 245 in the opening games.  After games of 186, 203 and 188 Thorpe had some work to do in the final three games of the day, but the ATBSO bowler found his line to bowl games of 236, 213 and 203, to sit on top of the leader board with 8 games to go.

On Sunday, Thorpe picked up where he left off, bowling games of 222, 216, 245 and 247 to put himself in contention for his first ranked event win of 2019.  With further games of 208, 236, 233 the 50-year old’s confidence was high and in the final game, with the title in his sights, Thorpe managed a perfect game to finish on top of the podium, winning by 135 pins from second placed Ralph Harford (3487) and Andrew Lloyd (3447).

In the senior ladies division, winner Sarah Knowland began her tilt at the title by storming out of the block with games of 255, 225 and 202.  With the likes of Jeanette Baker and Heather Robertson in the field, Knowland knew she had plenty of work to do in the remaining 13 games. 

With further games of 217, 172, 222, 208 and 233 Knowland finished the first day of competition sitting on top of the leader board with a healthy lead of 102 pins.

On Sunday and with pressure mounting the Keon Park bowler began strong once again with games of 237 and 243.  After a 167 game, Knowland went on to bowl games of 223, 153, 179, 194 and 213 in the 16th and final game to win the 2019 Vintage Classic title by 183 pins from next best Christine Clark (3160) and Tracey Crisp (3117) in third.

Knowland also claimed first place in the grand senior ladies division with Heather Robertson finishing in second and Hall of Famer Jeanette Baker in third. 

In the grand senior men’s division it was Campbelltown bowler Jim Karakostas who took the honours with Les Harrison finishing in second and David Farquharson in third. 

For all the final standings visit