Amanda Threlfall and Mitchell Meares: Triumph at the TBA Inclusion Cup

By Matt Stevens
February 19, 2024

This weekend, the TBA Inclusion Cup celebrated its second annual competition, marking a significant kick-off to the 2024 TBA Inclusion division ranked event season.

The event, held at the AGL National High Performance Centre on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland, showcased remarkable talent and inclusivity in the sport of Tenpin Bowling. With double the entries compared to the previous year, the tournament demonstrated significant growth and excitement within the community.

Champions Amanda Threlfall and Mitchell Meares led the victory marches in their respective divisions, each making their mark in the history of the competition.

Amanda secured her second consecutive title at the event, while Mitchell celebrated his first national title, a momentous achievement in his budding career.

Representing Victoria, Amanda Threlfall dominated the women’s division, proving her prowess and resilience on the lanes. Despite a small but fiercely competitive field, Amanda finished stage one atop the leaderboard, amassing 2,246 pins with an average score of 187.2 over the first 12 games. Her performance was highlighted by a high game of 230 in her sixth game.

Following closely was Queensland’s Sarah Hartley, who after an impressive first day, had to withdraw due to an injury, leaving the Matchplay finals open for the taking. Amanda was unstoppable in the finals, winning every matchup to collect the maximum 12 points and securing her position as a two-time event champion. This victory follows her remarkable achievement as the Para Bowling World Cup champion in 2022, solidifying her status as a formidable contender in the sport.

In the men’s division, the field was robust with 20 bowlers vying for the title. The stage was set for an intense competition as 2023 TBA Inclusion Division rankings champion Pino Mascetti initially led the pack with a staggering average of 215.4. However, the Matchplay finals brought a different dynamic, with Mitchell Meares from New South Wales emerging victorious.

Starting strong with a 245 game, Meares overcame a brief setback to win six of his last games, accumulating a total of 14 points from his 8 matches. This victory not only marked his first national title but also highlighted his potential for future success in the sport. With the support of his squad and the 2022 Para Bowling World Cup champion Kallan Strong by his side, Meares’ triumph at the TBA Inclusion Cup is just the beginning of his ascent in the bowling world.



Corey Hansen (QLD) – 260
Sarah Hartley (QLD) – 235 x 2

The TBA Inclusion Cup not only celebrated champions but also showcased the spirit of competition and camaraderie among athletes. With record participation and a display of exceptional talent, the event has set a high standard for the rest of the 2024 season.

Participants are reminded that TBA will get in touch with the winner of the best over-average performance that did not cash during the week.

As we look forward to the National Disability Championships, all eyes will be on these remarkable athletes as they continue to break barriers and set new records in the world of inclusive sports.

The 2024 National Disability Championship will be held from 5-15 June 2024 at Zone Bowling Tuggeranong in the ACT. Two nationally ranked events will occur at the championships –

  1. Classic and Open All-Events
  2. Classic and Open Masters

For more information, and to enter this year’s exciting Championship, click here.