Pocket Preview: NSW Open

By Matt Stevens
September 8, 2023

iPlay Tenpin City in New South Wales (NSW) is gearing up to host bowlers from all corners of the country as they celebrate the 40th anniversary of the NSW Open.

This prestigious tournament that will run from 9-10 September promises to be the grand finale of the 2023 bowling calendar that features both the Open and Women’s ranked event divisions.

In its 40th edition, the NSW Open holds a special place, and this year’s edition is no exception.

The defending champions, Bek Martin and Sam Cooley have maintained a firm grip on their titles, reigning supreme in 2019 and 2022. These formidable bowlers will be present to defend their crowns and are aiming for three consecutive titles at the event. Notably, Sam Cooley is making his eagerly awaited return to the national-ranked event circuit after a successful stint on the regional tour in the United States.

The competition format for the NSW Open is both challenging and exhilarating. Each bowler will face 10 games divided into 2-game blocks for qualifying. The top 24 males, based on scratch pinfall, will advance to Stage 1, while the top 8 females will skip directly to the matchplay phase.

Stage 1 introduces a further test for the top 24 males, who will bowl an additional 8 games in a 1-game block. The pinfall from the qualifying rounds will carry over, ultimately determining the top 8 who will proceed to the matchplay phase.

The pinnacle of excitement comes during the matchplay phase, where the top 8 bowlers in each division engage in fierce competition. Over 7 games of matchplay, they’ll battle it out with bonus pins activated. At the conclusion of matchplay, the top two bowlers in each division will go head-to-head in the title match, with the added drama of the top qualifier having the option to rechallenge should they lose the first game.

As the NSW Open approaches, Tenpin Bowling Australia extends its warmest wishes to all participating bowlers. May the pins fall in your favour, and may you achieve your highest scores at this prestigious event. Let the countdown to the 40th anniversary of the NSW Open begin!



Official Practice
– 6pm-7pm

A Squad Check-In Closes – 8 am
A Squad Commences – 8:30 am
Re-oil – 12:30 pm
B Squad Check-In Closes – 1:00 pm
B Squad Commences – 1:30 pm
Finalists Announced – 6:00 pm

Stage 1 Check-In Closes – 8:30 am
Stage 1 Commences – 9:00 am
Top 8 Males Announced – 11:00 am
Re-Oil – 11:00 am
Top 8 Check-In Closes – 11:30 am
Matchplay Commences – 12:00 pm
Title Matches – 2:45 pm
Presentation – 3:30 pm



iPlay Tenpin City
92/96 Parramatta Rd, Lidcombe NSW 2141

1984 NSW Open Winners – Jeanette Baker and
Steve Lovell, Nick Koumandakis (middle)