Victoria Wins The Presidents Shield for Third Consecutive Year

By Chris Rushton
April 30, 2019

Victoria has gone back to back to back at the 2019 Presidents Junior Interstate Shield at Oz Tenpin Chirnside Park, finishing first on the combined points tally for a third consecutive year.

After winning the Shield by 7 points in 2018, Victoria finished on top with a 29.5 point victory over next best South Queensland with NSW finishing in third.

Leading after day 1 and 2 and heading into the final day with a 16.5 lead, it was on Thursday where Victoria cemented their victory. In game 15 both Victorian teams won against South Queensland to push closer to the title. In game 16 the Victorian girls took the two points against Tasmania. After gaining the maximum points in games 17, 18 and 19, victory was in their sights. With 2 points from the match up against North Queensland, the girl’s team closed out the win when they defeated the ACT in the final game.

At the conclusion of the event Victoria took out the girls division finishing 23 points ahead of second placed South Queensland, with Tasmania in third.

NSW took the honour in the boys division finishing only half a point ahead of the Victorians with South Queensland finishing in third.

In the individual results Australian representative, Nixon Chan finished in first place averaging 211 over the 3 days with Grace Fahy from Victoria finishing the best in the girl’s division for a second consecutive year after averaging 201.

All Stars Team Announced

At the presentation dinner the All Stars teams was announced with the following bowlers being named:

Micaylah Downey, NSW
Lily Wilson, NQ
Amy Shoesmith, ACT
Emily Bottomley, SQ
Grace Fahy, VIC

Tom Mitchell, NSW
Bevan Brooke, VIC
Bernie Grueso Jr, VIC
Jackson Botham, NSW
Nixon Chan, NSW

Peers Vote for ‘Jason Belmonte Sportsperson Award’ Winners

Amy Shoesmith and Jackson Botham were voted by their fellow bowlers as the Jason Belmonte Sportsperson Award winners, whilstMatthew Purser received the Chairperson’s Award and Sarah Pennicott claimed the Directors Award for the second consecutive year.

To view all the final standings visit