Victorians Dominate: Dodds and Notman Win SA Seniors Classic

By Matt Stevens
May 27, 2024

Victorian bowlers Mary Dodds and Alan Notman emerged victorious, capturing the women’s and men’s titles respectively in a thrilling weekend of competition at the 21st SA Seniors Classic at Bowland Salisbury in South Australia for the third event in the Tenpin Bowling Australia (TBA) Senior & Grand Senior division ranked series for 2024.

Mary Dodds Dominates Women’s Division

Mary Dodds, a past winner in 2018 and former Australian bowler who won both a bronze medal in the women’s doubles and silver in the women’s teams event at the 2019 World Senior Championships in Las Vegas, showcased her exceptional skill once again after taking a break from the sport. Dodds returned with renewed vigour to capture yet another national title, six years after her first at the event.

Leading the field at the end of day one, Dodds posted a score of 1,564, averaging 195.5, with a tightly packed leaderboard behind her. She maintained her lead on the second day, extending her total to 3,147 from the 16 games, averaging 196.7. Defending champion Christine Clark finished 117 pins behind in second place, and Julie Harrison rounded out the podium, also topping the Grand Seniors standings.

Heather Robertson finished second in the Grand Senior division while South Australian Jill Morris finished in third position.

Dodds becomes only the second female to win multiple SA Senior Classic titles, joining TBA Hall of Fame legend and her bronze medal doubles partner at the 2019 World Senior Championships, Jeanette Baker, who holds an incredible record of 12 titles.

Alan Notman Wins Inaugural National Title

In the men’s division, Victorian Alan Notman secured his inaugural national title in a nail-biting finish against Michael Muir. Leading after day one with a score of 1,813, averaging 226.6, Notman faced a strong challenge from Muir, who was just 84 pins behind.

The standings remained close throughout the second day, but Notman finished strong, bowling a tournament-high game of 269 in his final match to clinch the title. Notman ended with a total of 3,488, averaging 218, narrowly edging out Muir by 17 pins. David Edwards from Victoria completed the podium with a score of 3,388, just ahead of defending champion Mick Talevski.

Notman, a league bowler from Zone Bowling Frankston, was recently selected to represent Australia at the Asian Senior Championships in Singapore in October and this weekend’s performance shows the selection was a valid one after an impressive start to the season in 2024.

Notman has finished with two top ten places at the previous events (9th at the Hammer and 10th at the John Sullivan Senior Australian Open) to put his name up near the pointy end and become a true contender for the senior rankings title in 2024.

For the men’s Grand Senior Division, David Farquharson from Victoria led the standings with a total of 3,211, with Jim Bakirtzidis in second and Northern Territory legend Chris Kirwin making a strong return to finish third.

The SA Seniors Classic showcased high-level bowling, close competition, and impressive performances from seasoned athletes, making it a memorable event for all participants and spectators.

A big shoutout to the Mawson Lakes Hotel who sponsored this year’s event with an exclusive deal for bowlers wishing to stay with them during the tournament and providing prize money for the highest score on each pair of lanes. Also, a big thank you to the Salisbury Bowland for their donation towards to the prize funds and to Belinda and Adam Sims for their outstanding assistance over the weekend to ensure the tournament ran so smoothly.

Congratulations to Mary Dodds and Alan Notman for their remarkable victories and to all bowlers for their outstanding efforts.



Suz Wenzel – 258



Alan Notman – 269



Julie Harrison – 223



Kevin Blackmore – 266

Three down, two to go! The fourth event in the TBA Senior & Grand Senior ranked series for 2024 will head to New South Wales with the second running of the Brunswick Seniors Invitational at Bowlarama Wetherill Park. Entries are now open with a full C Squad and limited spots in squads A and B. Click below for all the info