Pocket Preview: Wyncity Youth Cup

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
February 24, 2023

The newly named Wyncity Youth Cup will kick off the Youth rankings division for 2023 this weekend at Wyncity Keon Park in Victoria.  

In the 20th running of the event, the newly named Wyncity Youth Cup takes over the formally known Werribee Youth Cup as the first event on the youth division ranked event calendar.

The squad list is nearing capacity as the first event for the youth division will welcome many junior bowlers who have now aged out of the junior division.

Home of several historic ranked bowling tournaments, Wyncity Keon Park, will again host the event after moving the tournament to Keon Park last year.

Qualifying on Saturday will see all competitors bowl 12 games in 2 separate 6-game blocks changing lanes after every 2 games. The top 12 boys and top 12 girls, after 12 games of qualifying, will progress to Sunday’s elimination round.

The finals on Sunday will see two stages occur. Stage two will kick things off with the top 12 boys and top 12 girls to bowl 5 more games with their pinfall carrying over from qualifying. After the five additional games, the top 6 boys and top 6 girls with the highest pinfall after 17 games will progress to stage 3.

The third and final stage will see the top 6 bowl five games of Matchplay with bonus pins introduced (30 for a win, 15 pins for a draw). After all three stages, the boy and girl with the highest total pinfall plus bonus pins will be declared the 2023 Wyncity Youth Cup Champions.

Tenpin Bowling Australia wishes all participants the best of luck and high scoring.

2003       Brandon Qualischefski (Qld)Clair Johnston (SA)
2004       Jason Belmonte (NSW)Jayde Flanagan (Qld)
2005Glen Loader (Vic)Clair Johnston (SA
2006Glen Loader (Vic)Louise Ingoe (SA)
2007David Porto (Vic)Emily Robertson (Vic)
2008David Porto (Vic) Emily Robertson (Vic)
2009Mitch Marris (WA)Alicia Savill (Qld)
2010 Sam Cooley (NSW)Kirsten Field (Vic)
2011Sam Cooley (NSW)Bec Whiting (Vic)
2012Matthew Harriage (Vic)Kaitlyn Commane (Tas)
2013Paul White (Vic)Emily Rigney (Vic)
2014Jayden Leming (Qld)Rachel Glare (Vic)
2015Michael Murray (VIC)Carly Giordmaina (VIC)
2016 Blayne Fletcher (QLD)Janet Hunt (NSW)
2017Bernie Grueso Jr (VIC)Janet Hunt (NSW)
2018Matt Clague (QLD)Emma Stephens (NSW)
2019Trent Webber (SA) Chloe Jones (QLD)
2020Bernie Grueso Jr (VIC)  Amy Shoesmith (ACT)
2021Did not run due to COVID restrictions
2022Bernie Grueso Jr (VIC)Grace Fahy (VIC)