Pocket Preview: 2023 Australian Tenpin Bowling Open

By Tenpin Bowling Australia
April 6, 2023

In a jam-packed Easter weekend, the Australian Tenpin Bowling Open will commence on Friday at Zone Bowling Frankston in Victoria.

In the 47th running of the prestigious event, the Australian Tenpin Bowling Open will run in conjunction with the Vic150.

One of the more grueling formats on the calendar, the Australian Tenpin Bowling Open will see bowlers complete a total of 16 games of qualifying to finalise the top 24 bowlers to advance to stage 1 of the finals.

The top 24 bowlers will then complete six games (3×2 game blocks) before the top 12 moves onto the final stage. Action will then continue with the top 12 completing 11 games of match play with bonus pins of 20 for a win, and 10 for a tie activated.

Pinfall carries all the way through the event, with the top 12 bowlers completing a total of 33 games before a champion is crowned.

Defending champion and local Frankston bowler Adam Hayes will return to defend his crown after his spectacular win in 2022.

Tenpin Bowling Australia wishes all bowlers the best of luck and high scoring over the long weekend.

Please note the recap of the event will be released on Tuesday following the Easter holiday break

1972Ken Sheehan (Qld)
1973Steve Mackie (NSW)
1974Joe Velo (NSW)
1975Joe Velo (NSW)
1976Vic Bubniw (Vic)
1977Eric Thompson (Vic)
1978Not Contested
1979Not Contested
1980Not Contested
1981Not Contested
1982Ken Watson (NSW)
1983John Sullivan (Vic)
1984Steve Lovell (NSW)
1985Len Hogg (Vic)
1986Steve Lovell (NSW)
1987Len Hogg (Vic)
1988John Sullivan (Vic)
1989Sam Romeo (NSW)
1990Brenton Davy (SA)
1991Mark Ramsay (Qld)
1992Terry Wenban (NSW)
1993Ian Bradford (Vic)
1994Sam Romeo (NSW)
1995Paulo Valdez (Philippines)
1996Carl Bottomley (Qld)
1997Frank Ryan (Vic)
1998Anthony Flynn (Vic)
1999Carl Bottomley (Qld)
2000Matthew Riley (Tas)
2001Cara Honeychurch (Vic)
2002Cara Honeychurch (Vic)
2003Cara Honeychurch (Vic)
2004Brandon Qualischefski (Qld)
2005Michael Little (NSW)
2006David Porto (Vic)
2007George Frilingos (Qld)
2008Matt Riley (NSW)
2009Dominic Barrett (England)
2010Paul Trotter (Vic)
2011Jason Belmonte (NSW)
2012Ben Coupland (NSW)
2013David Porto (Vic)
2014Glen Loader (NSW)
2015Michael Little (NSW)
2016Sam Cooley (NSW)
2017Jarrod Langford (QLD)
2018Sam Cooley (NSW)
2019Sam Cooley (NSW)
2020Not Contested
2021David Porto (Vic)
2022Adam Hayes (Vic)
Australian Open Multiple Winners
Joe Velo (NSW) – 1974 & 1975
John Sullivan (Vic) – 1983 & 1988
Steve Lovell (NSW) – 1984 & 1986
Len Hogg (Vic) – 1985 & 1987
Sam Romeo (NSW) – 1989 & 1994
Carl Bottomley (Qld) – 1996 & 1999
Matt Riley (NSW) – 2000 & 2008
David Porto (Vic) – 2006,2013 and 2021
Cara Honeychurch (Vic) – 2001, 2002 & 2003
Sam Cooley (NSW) – 2016, 2018, 2019
Michael Little (NSW) – 2005, 2015

All bowlers wishing to have ranking points applied to their performances must have a silver upgrade registration attached to their TenpinResults profile before 11.59 pm on Thursday 6 April 2023. This can be actioned online on TenpinResults and more information can be found here

All competing bowlers must be a 2023 League Member to participate.